Skip to content
Blockchain

Coinbase-Thunes Pact Targets Last-Mile Stablecoin Payouts

Digital dollar coin surrounded by reserve, transfer, security, and network graphics.

Coinbase and Thunes said on Oct. 19, 2026 that they will connect Coinbase’s stablecoin infrastructure to Thunes’ fiat payout network, an arrangement intended to give Coinbase customers a direct path to local clearing systems and mobile wallets in markets where bank rails are thin. The announcement, made at Money20/20 USA in a Thunes-issued press release, describes an agreement to build integrated rails, not a completed rollout. The unresolved question is whether the promised last-mile reach becomes live payout capacity: the release provides no launch date, pilot market, transaction volume or fee schedule.

What the agreement actually does

Under the announced structure, Coinbase will integrate Thunes’ Direct Global Network into its platform. That would give Coinbase customers direct payout access to local clearing systems and alternative payment methods, while Thunes would supply what the release calls “last-mile” delivery to mobile wallets and bank accounts. In return, Coinbase will power Thunes’ stablecoin infrastructure through its stablecoin solutions, enabling Thunes to embed stablecoins across its global network. The press release frames the arrangement as a two-sided exchange: Thunes contributes fiat reach, and Coinbase contributes the on-chain asset rail.

The implied flow is a standard cross-border payout with a shorter final leg. A Coinbase customer with a stablecoin balance could initiate a payment that Thunes delivers through a local method such as GCash, M-Pesa, Airtel or JazzCash. The release does not specify where stablecoin-to-fiat conversion occurs, which party bears foreign-exchange or settlement risk, or how quickly funds would arrive. Those details determine whether the service is materially faster or cheaper than existing correspondent banking, not just technically possible.

Thunes states that its Direct Global Network already reaches more than 140 countries and 90 currencies, connects to over 12 billion mobile wallets, stablecoin wallets and bank accounts, and covers 15 billion cards through more than 220 payment methods. Those are company-reported network totals, not an inventory of active endpoints enabled for Coinbase customers at launch. The aggregate reach matters less than the subset that is licensed, liquid and operationally available for the specific use cases Coinbase intends to serve.

Why the announcement matters for stablecoin rails

The announcement addresses a known friction in stablecoin payments: moving value on-chain is only useful if the recipient can spend it in local currency. By pairing a stablecoin provider with a network that already has direct connections to local clearing and mobile wallets, Coinbase and Thunes are trying to shorten the final delivery leg without either firm building out every local rail itself. That distinguishes this from a liquidity or issuance announcement. Thunes is not launching a stablecoin, and the release does not say Coinbase is acquiring a payment network. The proposal is interoperability between existing platforms.

The collaboration would matter most to the corporate, gig-economy and remittance use cases named in the release. Thunes already counts Uber and Deliveroo as network members, but the announcement does not state that those members will use Coinbase rails. For money transfer operators and fintechs, another stablecoin-enabled payout option could reduce dependence on correspondent banks, but this release shows supply-side intent, not signed end-user demand.

The executives emphasized integration rather than completed transactions. Chloé Mayenobe, Thunes deputy CEO, said the partnership connects “traditional finance, mobile wallets, and digital assets,” while Coinbase’s head of infrastructure products, Alec Lovett, described last-mile connectivity as key to an “end-to-end payment experience.” The release uses forward-looking language such as “will integrate” and “will power,” and it does not identify a single customer that has used the combined service. A named partnership lowers the barrier to future discussions, but it does not by itself change the availability of cross-border stablecoin payouts today.

The compliance claim is also unproven. Thunes says its Fortress Compliance Platform will help enable “fully compliant cross-border payouts,” but the release does not list the licenses, regulated entities or country approvals that would underpin the service. Payments regulation is local, and a global network map can still fail in individual markets if the relevant local partnerships are not approved. The next verifiable signal is therefore a named launch market, a real customer settlement, or a published fee and delivery-time schedule, not another partnership quote.

BTC-Pulse

Related stories

More coverage from this topic.